Distinguished Leadership Award

The College Board of Directors has developed a new award that merges the College Award for Distinguished Service and the College Honourary Life Member Award . The new award Distinguished Leadership Award is being introduced for the 2018 National Award campaign. The prestige and stature of this new award combines the best aspects of the two existing awards to create a recognition that will showcase an outstanding senior leader for their contributions to the health system, and to the College.

Sponsored by:

2017 College Award for Distinguished Service Recipient: Colonel (Retired) David Weger, CHE 

For 36 years, David Weger served Canada as a member of the Canadian Armed Forces, the latter 29 years of which were with the Military Health System.   As a Healthcare Administrator and Senior Health Services Executive, he was afforded the opportunity to collaborate with counterparts from five Canadian Provinces and numerous foreign countries.  He led the development of agreements for the integration of Military Health Care Professionals into Provincial Health Care Systems for the maintenance of the clinical skill sets required to save lives on combat operations.  He also played a key role in establishing the Canadian Association of Physician Assistants as a non-governmental organization.

View our 2017 Celebrating Leading Practices booklet for David’s full biography.


2017 College Honourary Life Member Award Recipient: Pat Coish-Snow, CHE 

Pat Coish-Snow began her career as a bedside nurse and her passion for learning and wanting to make a difference launched her into healthcare education, leadership, and management.  Her career spans over 34 years, including 18 years in executive management roles in acute care, long term care, and community environments.  Pat has played key leadership roles in the reorganization and integration of healthcare organizations in Newfoundland and Labrador.  She has successfully facilitated and led many policy, program, and system wide initiatives at the regional and provincial level, resulting in system transformation while ensuring a commitment to safe, quality healthcare.

View our 2017 Celebrating Leading Practices booklet for Pat’s full biography.



Past College Award for Distinguished Services Recipients

2016, Alice Kennedy FCCHL
2015, Donna Towers CHE
2014, Mark Neskar CHE
2013, Maura Davies FCCHL
2012, Don Desjardins
2011, Bonnie Adamson FCCHL
2010, Elma Heidemann FCCHL
2009, Major-général (ret'd) Mathieu CHE (ret'd)
2008, Robert Zed CHE, FACHE
2006, Louise Cherry CHE
2005, Tony Dagnone FCCHL
2004, Garth Pierce FCCHSE
2003, Joseph Mapa FCCHL
2002, Kenneth Ezeard CHE
2001, Jean Bartkowiak CHE, AdmA
1999, Peter Peters
1996, Miriam Lowi-Young FCCHL, FACHE
1995, A Bailey
1994, Lorna Romilly CHE
1992, Harvey Fox FCCHSE


Past College Honourary Life Member Recipients

2016, Mark Neskar CHE
2015, Bonnie Adamson FCCHL
2014, Elma Heidemann FCCHL
2013, John King CHE
2012, Robert Smith FCCHL
2011, Clifford Nordal FCCHSE, FACHE
2010, Kenneth Ezeard CHE
2009, Garth Pierce FCCHSE
2008, Tony Dagnone FCCHL