Excellence in Patient Safety Award

Formerly known as the Healthcare Safety Award, this award recognizes individuals and/or teams that are committed to improving workplace and /or patient safety within the healthcare environment, through leadership, culture, best practices, innovation and change management expertise.

Selection Committee


Sponsored by:


2017 Recipient: Niagara Health
VTE Prophylaxis Accreditation Compliance Project: Improving Patient Outcomes

Venous thromboembolism (VTE) is one of the most common complications of hospitalization and the most common preventable cause of hospital death.  The goal of the NH patient safety initiative was to ensure patients indicated for VTE prophylaxis consistently received safe, reliable, high quality care for this preventable cause of death.

View our 2017 Celebrating Leading Practices booklet for more information on Niagara Health.


Past Recipients

Please see our most recent recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2016, Baycrest

2015, Mount Sinai Hospital

2014, BC Cancer Agency (BCCA) & Vancouver General Hospital

2013, Mackenzie Health 

2012, The Credit Valley Hospital and Trillium Health Centre 

2011, The Wexford Residence