Recognition of Excellence in Delivering Value-based Healthcare

This recognition aims to increase the profile and understanding of value-based healthcare by honouring an organization, or team, that is deliberate in changing the way that care is delivered, resulting in improved patient outcomes. This means that patients are being optimally cared for at the right time, in the right setting and at the right cost.


Selection Committee


Sponsored by:

No recipient for 2017

2016 Innovation Award for Healthcare Leadership Recipient: Richard Tam

Mr. Tam’s visionary leadership fosters a culture of innovation that is changing the way healthcare is delivered now and into the future by:

Creating Canada’s first ‘Smart Hospital’.

Mackenzie Vaughan Hospital, expected to be completed in 2019/20, will become Canada’s first ‘Smart Hospital’, equipped with the most technologically-advanced equipment enabled by a fully integrated and connected ICAT (Information, Communication and Automation Technology) infrastructure. The new hospital will leverage a host of technological innovations that are context aware, personalized, and adaptive.

View our 2016 Celebrating Leading Practices booklet for more information about Canada's first 'Smart Hospital'.

 Award poster


Past Recipients

Please see our past recipients listed below. Full biography's are available in our Celebrating Leading Practices booklets.

2016, Richard Tam

2015, Louise Bradley CHE

2014, Richard Alvarez

2013, Howard Waldner CHE

2012, Isabel Henderson